ECFMG|FAIMER Recognized for Most Outstanding Article

The Editorial Committee of the Journal of Medical Regulation, published by the Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB), selected an ECFMG|FAIMER-authored article as the recipient of the 2021 Ray L. Casterline Award for Excellence in Writing. The award recognizes outstanding scholarly articles exploring issues of relevance to the state medical board community and the practice of medical regulation.

Christine D. Shiffer
Christine D. Shiffer

ECFMG|FAIMER Regulatory Affairs Manager Christine D. Shiffer was the primary author of the article titled Advancing the Quality of Medical Education Worldwide: ECFMG’s 2023 Medical School Accreditation Requirement. ECFMG|FAIMER President and CEO William W. Pinsky, MD, former Vice President for Research and Data Resources John Boulet, PhD, and former Senior Vice President for Business Development and Operations Lisa L. Cover co-authored the article. It was published in the December 2019 issue of the Journal of Medical Regulation. The award was presented on April 29 during the FSMB’s 2021 Annual Meeting.

The article explains the history of ECFMG Certification, the proliferation of medical schools worldwide, and the need to stimulate accreditation efforts and to improve the quality of medical education globally.  These efforts have led to ECFMG|FAIMER’s 2024 Medical School Accreditation Requirement.

“Christine is the primary author of the article. Accreditation of medical schools is important to the future of medical education globally, as well as a contributing factor to improving the delivery of quality health care,” Dr. Pinsky said. “Her straightforward approach to explain the history, necessity, and goals of the requirement really comes through in the article. She is very deserving of this writing honor.”

The Ray L. Casterline Award for Excellence in Writing is named for Ray L. Casterline, MD, who served ECFMG from 1973 through 1988 in a number of leadership roles, including Executive Director.