Initiatives Overview | EPIC | Electronic Credentials Verification, Mission, and Purposes | GEMx | Medical School Accreditation Requirement for ECFMG Certification | Comprehensive Review of USMLE
Medical School Accreditation Requirement for ECFMG Certification

Starting in 2023, applicants for ECFMG Certification must be from a medical school that is appropriately accredited. More specifically, the school must be accredited by an accrediting agency that is officially recognized by the World Federation for Medical Education (WFME).

The 2023 Medical School Accreditation Requirement was established by ECFMG in 2010 to stimulate international accreditation efforts and enhance the quality of medical education worldwide. The requirement is intended to encourage the development and implementation of standards for evaluating undergraduate medical education, to provide greater assurance to both medical students and the public that they will be appropriately trained.

Further information is available below, and additional details will be published in the coming months. Applicants and other interested individuals are encouraged to check this section frequently for updates. For a direct link, use www.ecfmg.org/accreditation.

Four-Phase Implementation Plan

Since the announcement in 2010, ECFMG has developed a transition plan for the implementation of the 2023 Accreditation Requirement. This four-phase plan will provide medical students, graduate medical education (GME) program directors, and others with information to guide their decision making.

2023 Accreditation Four-Phase Implementation Plan

Phase 1 – 2018: New ECFMG web resource to help students make better decisions on medical school selection

Phase 2 – 2020: World Directory of Medical Schools includes accreditation status of medical school

Phase 3 – 2021: ECFMG reports include information on accreditation status of medical school

Phase 4 – 2023: Eligibility for ECFMG Certification is tied to accreditation status of medical school

WFME Recognition Programme

The WFME Recognition Programme (www.wfme.org/accreditation/recognition-programme/) is the only program accepted by ECFMG at this time for the recognition of medical school accrediting agencies. WFME’s recognition criteria, based on guidelines developed by the World Health Organization and WFME, provide flexibility for the development of accreditation standards that fit the context of a country’s medical education system, while also ensuring that the schools being accredited by the agency meet rigorous quality measures.

To view countries served by accrediting agencies that are recognized or in the process of achieving recognition, see this map: www.wfme.org/accreditation/accrediting-agencies-status/.

With 2023 approaching, ECFMG encourages accrediting agencies to visit the WFME website at www.wfme.org to review the recognition criteria and begin the recognition process. Questions regarding the WFME Recognition Programme may be directed to accreditation@wfme.org.

More Information to Come

ECFMG is committed to keeping all of our stakeholders informed as we move forward with the 2023 Accreditation Requirement. Further details will be published in the coming months at www.ecfmg.org/accreditation. Specific questions regarding the 2023 Accreditation Requirement may be sent to 2023@ecfmg.org.

Read Past Progress Updates

Read the 2010 Press Release

Read the Background Document

Back to top