ECFMG Facebook icon
Programs Overview »


Board of Trustees

ECFMG is governed by a Board of Trustees consisting of two nominees from each of its organizational members, up to eight Trustees-at-Large, and ECFMG’s President, who serves as a voting member of the Board.

American Board of Medical Specialties

Barry S. Smith, M.D.
Associate Professor, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, Texas

Kevin B. Weiss, M.D., M.P.H.
Senior Vice President, Institutional Accreditation
Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education
Chicago, Illinois

American Medical Association

Nyapati R. Rao, M.D., M.S.
The Von Tauber Chair, Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
Nassau University Medical Center
East Meadow, New York

Paul H. Rockey, M.D., M.P.H.
Scholar in Residence
Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education
Chicago, Illinois

Association of American Medical Colleges

Karen H. Antman, M.D.
Provost, Boston University Medical Campus
Dean, School of Medicine
Boston University
Boston, Massachusetts

Maryellen E. Gusic, M.D.
Chief Medical Education Officer
Association of American Medical Colleges
Washington, D.C.

Association for Hospital Medical Education

Steven Robert Craig, M.D., M.A.C.P.
Executive Director, Des Moines Area Medical Education Consortium and
Assistant Dean for Curriculum and Student Affairs (Des Moines Branch Campus)
University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine
Des Moines, Iowa

Andrew T. Filak, Jr., M.D.
Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
Cincinnati, Ohio

Federation of State Medical Boards of the United States, Inc.

Pamela Blizzard, M.B.A.
Managing Director
Research Triangle High School
Research Triangle Park, North Carolina

Ram R. Krishna, M.D.
Orthopedic Surgeon
Yuma, Arizona

National Medical Association

Asqual Getaneh, M.D., M.P.H.
MedStar Health Research Institute
Hyattsville, Maryland

Dotun Ogunyemi, M.D.
Vice Chair of Patient Safety & Quality
William Beaumont Health System
Professor and Director of Reproductive Biology Physiology Course
Oakland University, William Beaumont School of Medicine
Rochester, Michigan
Clinical Services Professor
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
Los Angeles, California


Ronald R. Blanck, D.O.
Chairman and Partner
Martin, Blanck & Associates
Falls Church, Virginia

Patrick Courtin, Ph.D.
Harvard, Massachusetts

Albert G. Deana, C.P.A.
Baker Tilly
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Joe G.N. Garcia, M.D.
Senior Vice President for Health Sciences
University of Arizona
Tucson, Arizona

Cynthia Haines, M.B.A.
Haines & Co.
Haverford, Pennsylvania

Sade Kosoko-Lasaki, M.D., M.S.P.H., M.B.A.
Associate Vice President–Health Sciences
Creighton University
Omaha, Nebraska

Anne M. Murphy, J.D.
Senior Vice President and General Counsel
Rush University Medical Center
Chicago, Illinois

James F. Pelegano, M.D., M.S.
Program Director, Masters in Healthcare Quality and Safety
Thomas Jefferson School of Population Health
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates

Emmanuel G. Cassimatis, M.D.
President and Chief Executive Officer
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Back to top

ECFMG Fast Facts

  • Established in 1956
  • Private, nonprofit organization
  • Headquartered in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Employs more than 800 people

ECFMG issued the first Standard ECFMG Certificates in 1958. Since then, it has certified more than 320,000 international medical graduates.

Areas of Expertise:

  • Evaluating the qualifications of international medical graduates
  • International medical schools
  • Physician credentials related to medical education, training, and licensure
  • Assessing clinical skills
FAIMER, a nonprofit foundation of ECFMG
Apply for employment
Contact ECFMG
Last updated January 5, 2015.
® Registered in the US Patent and Trademark Office.
Copyright © 1996-2015 by the Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates. All rights reserved.